10 Comments
Apr 22, 2022Liked by Jenny Yang

Last year a lovely green apple showed up in my farm box delivery. As I bit in, I was overwhelmed with nostalgia—I could taste the apples that grew on the trees at my childhood home. I tracked down the Oregon grower and discovered that I could also buy their Calville apples at Bristol Farms. I also get nostalgic when rhubarb hits the farmers market. The produce that grew abundantly in the yard is now sold in bougie markets at prices my dad would shake his head at.

Expand full comment
Apr 22, 2022Liked by Jenny Yang

my mama's Hong2 Shao1 Rou4 (she passed away) <3

Expand full comment
Apr 22, 2022Liked by Jenny Yang

I was just talking to my mom about my Grandma's potato salad. We've tried, we even watched her make it when I was younger before she passed away but it's always "almost" right. It's those imperceptible things we do when making something thats so hard to pinpoint. Maybe it was that my Grandma knew the moment the potatoes were cool enough but warm enough to add everything in making for a super savory delight. I don't know but Ill keep trying to make/recreate that first bite delight until its just right. Novice baker thoughts on the bread, I wonder if the type of flour your mom used is different enough that something is not allowing the bread to be as fluffy as you remember. If it's a yeast bread, maybe more proofing time to get that airy feel into the dough possibly bread flour might help. I want you to have that Floofy bread !

Expand full comment

I could probably chase this some day. Opening a ramune at around 4pm while watching a another episode of anime with my sisters, as the day wastes away and the grey sky outside provides insufficient light.

Expand full comment

Every time I go back home to Buffalo, I have to visit Ted’s Hot Dogs for a charbroiled footlong with Ted’s sweet hot sauce and a side of fries covered in malt vinegar. I’ve even bought the brand of hot dogs Ted’s uses and had them shipped across the country to cook at home. I’m a little obsessed, but I’ve had so many great memories going to Ted’s with friends and family, some of whom are no longer with us.

Expand full comment
deletedApr 22, 2022·edited Apr 23, 2022Liked by Jenny Yang
Comment deleted
Expand full comment