everything's fine with Jenny Yang
everything's fine with Jenny Yang Podcast
THREAD: no, *this* is the best take on that SLAP
9
0:00
-7:08

THREAD: no, *this* is the best take on that SLAP

what are your tricks for doing LESS in life?
9

This week is a “THREAD” week. That means I’d love to hear you in the comments with an answer to this: What are your tricks for doing LESS in life? Let’s hear tips, tricks, and full-on stories where doing less really helped.

Oh, I’m serious. I love hearing ways that we can work smarter not harder etc etc. But also ways that we draw emotional and practical boundaries for ourselves when we feel overwhelmed. Maybe you’re good at delegating to your partner? Or even just simple tricks for cutting down on cleaning chores or running errands. I love a good kitchen hack. More than your tips and tricks, also share any stories you have where doing less or saying less turned out GREAT. I want us to share all of it!

For example, once a year I do a “social media sabbatical” where I take a month off from reading or posting on social media. More about that later.

december 2021: me being a dork in Mexico because i never do beach vacation stuff like this. and of course i’m still with my “life notes” thinking about my goals and shit.

This THREAD was inspired by Daniel Radcliffe aka Harry P aka Le Petit Prince aka Child Actor Set For Life. When you got nothing to lose because you helmed a multi-billion dollar franchise before hitting puberty you REALLY don’t need to stay this sensible! But somehow he does.

When asked if he saw “the slap” on the Oscars and what he thought of it, this was his response. Here’s the video:

I’m just so already dramatically bored of hearing people’s opinions about that. I just don’t want to be another opinion adding to it.

— Daniel Radcliffe, a most sensible man.

What a smart smart man. He was like, “Nah. No thank you.” Sometimes, doing less is actually exactly what we need. Especially when not every celebrity needs to have a take on this very complicated pop culture moment.

So in the spirit of doing less, comment below and let me know how YOU do less in your life. Thank you to all of the new subscribers who hopped on and said, “Okay new thing from Jenny! Whatever this Substack thing is, who cares, I’m in!” I’d love to hear from you below. Even if it’s just to say hello.

And as promised, more about my favorite way to “do less”: my annual Social Media Sabbatical (trademark lol)

My last break happened in December of 2021. My dad had just passed away in November and December for a break just felt right. I deleted my social apps from my phone and shifted my morning routine of looking at Instagram and Twitter to reading from a real life book and sometimes checking the Apple news feed. I also added morning journaling sometimes for good measure. And on a whim I took a sunny beach vacation, an actually do nothing trip - something I never do. It was much needed healing. Taking breaks: High recommend.

And for no reason at all, here is a running list of epiphanies I had during my December social media break (straight from my notes app):

  1. sugar cookies are disgusting. they should not exist. the inventor of these monstrosities wished pain upon the world. give us truth in advertising don’t call them cookies. just call them “sugar wood.” it’s only for ornaments and during December.

  2. DM lurking (aka just reading your own Direct Messages) is optimal for zero responsibility to respond to anything.

  3. other people dying or parental or grandparental dying storylines even on cartoons is now officially sadder.

  4. went to an all-inclusive resort in a warm area of another country for the first time and hospitality is SO MUCH EMOTIONAL LABOR. also. white lotus.

  5. having privilege is like bowling w bumpers. privilege is also knowing what bumpers in bowling are. also it's like being American at a mexican all inclusive resort and the human locals are your social “bumpers” so you don't have to worry about shit. also it's like being Alison Roman even after she got canceled and now making more than she ever has as a freelancer than she had while employed at new york times or bon appetit.

  6. luxuries that blow my parents minds: slow and quiet closing toilet seats and kitchen drawers. it’s sexy.

  7. finally found my solution. foot files for rough ass feet that look like a cheese grater. trust me.

  8. corey and i are open mouthed smiling people in photos. i've accepted this. extroverts always want to communicate enthusiasm. YEAH! our faces always say. why are we so compelled to show people we are having fun?

That’s it. These are the revelations you get when you clear your mind from the clutter of social media. Are these life-changing revelations? No. But it felt good to remind my body that living real life is cool too. Evolution has not caught our brains up to the fire hose of information we have to process now.

Sometimes, doing less is the answer.

*****

P.S. Today is International Transgender Day of Visibility, a day to celebrate and empower transgender and non-binary people around the world. It is also a day to remind ourselves how to best be accomplices in trans folks’ fight for empowerment, especially given the unprecedented legislative and societal discrimination trans folks are experiencing. Follow and visit @pinkmantaray Schuyler Bailar for a few things to do today, especially if you’re not transgender and would like to learn more about allyship. #tdov #transdayofvisibility

*****

everything’s fine with Jenny Yang is your weekly reminder to find joy in an unjust world. jenny’s thoughts and stories about love, grief, weird shit, and doing what we can to feel okay. this thing may morph into something else. who knows? i hope to touch your heart and tickle your sphincters. and if you like it, please share this with a friend and subscribe and comment.

<3 jenny (insta, twitter)

9 Comments
everything's fine with Jenny Yang
everything's fine with Jenny Yang Podcast
everything’s fine with Jenny Yang is your weekly reminder to find joy in an unjust world. jenny’s thoughts and stories about love, grief, weird shit, and doing what we can to feel okay. this thing may morph into something else. who knows? i hope to touch your heart and tickle your sphincters. and if you like it, please share this with a friend and subscribe and comment.
<3 jenny